For the first time, the level of knowledge of primary school students to be assessed in line with the international system

In November 2019, 2,800 students from 70 secondary schools of Uzbekistan will take part in pilot assessment in line with early grade assessment (EGRA) and early grade mathematics assessment (EGMA) as part of an Uzbek-American project.

On 14 November 2019, the ceremony of launching pilot assessment in line with EGRA and EGMA with the participation of the Minister of Public Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan Sherzod Shermatov and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States Daniel Rosenblum was held at Tashkent secondary school No. 238.

EGRA and EGMA are scientifically based models for assessing basic reading and literacy skills, as well as numeracy for diagnosing systemic gaps in teaching in elementary grades and determining optimal solutions to address them.

Assessments are conducted by the Ministry of Public Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan (MoPE) in collaboration with the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). This methodology is the first component of a US$50 million five-year development goal agreement signed between the MoPE and USAID on 28 September 2019.

It is planned that EGRA and EGMA assessments will be conducted in 12 regions of Uzbekistan in all 7 languages of instruction and English.

Pilot studies will be conducted over two weeks in 70 schools of Uzbekistan and will cover 1,400 second-graders and 1,400 fourth-graders.

The main goal of the pilot assessment is to pilot the tools for each language, test the data collection protocol, and also practice assessors.

For the assessment, groups were created, which included 5 specialists.

It is planned that full-fledged assessments in schools in Uzbekistan will be carried out in May 2020. Assessments will be conducted over 10 school days in 940 schools, which will be chosen at random. The assessment will cover 11,280 second-graders and the same number of fourth-graders. About 12 students from each class will participate in EGRA and EGMA assessment.

The final results of the EGRA and EGMA studies will be published in August 2020.

The Minister of Public Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan Sherzod Shermatov noted that until today we did not have an objective system for assessing knowledge. Now the Ministry of Public Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan is working on the implementation of projects based on international experience and assessments. For the first time, we conduct an assessment of the knowledge of our students on the basis of international systems. These studies will allow you to compare the results of Uzbekistan with data from other countries and find the best ways to solve them. In this regard, I urge directors and teachers to ensure the objectivity of the assessment, as the data will help identify problem areas in the education system.

US Ambassador to Uzbekistan Daniel Rosenblum said that the EGRA and EGMA are designed to provide simple, low-cost, and powerful measures of literacy and numeracy. I want to emphasize that the use of the word “assessment” is a very specific choice. This is not a test of an individual pupil’s knowledge, of an individual teacher’s ability to teach, or an individual school director’s management of a school. There are no passing or failing grades. Much like how a doctor examines a patient before prescribing treatment, the assessments are examining the condition of early grade reading and math learning and the results of these assessments will be used to develop new curricula, teaching methods, and approaches that will be tailored to specifically improve the learning outcomes of all pupils in Uzbekistan.

Scroll to Top

Впервые уровень знаний учеников начальных классов будет оценён по международной системе

     В ноябре 2019 года 2,8 тыс. учащихся 70 общеобразовательных школ Узбекистана примут участие в пилотных исследованиях по оценке навыков чтения (EGRA) и математики (EGMA) в начальных классах в рамках узбекско-американского проекта, сообщает пресс-служба Министерства народного образования.

14 ноября 2019 года в общеобразовательной школе № 238 города Ташкента прошла церемония запуска пилотных исследований EGRA и EGMA при участии Министра народного образования Республики Узбекистана Шерзода Шерматова и Чрезвычайного и полномочного Посла США Дэниела Розенблюма.

Исследования EGRA и EGMA являются научно обоснованными моделями оценки базовых навыков чтения и грамотности, а также счета для диагностики системных пробелов в преподавании в начальных классах и определения оптимальных решений для их устранения.

Данные исследования проводятся Министерством народного образования Республики Узбекистана при сотрудничестве с Агентством США по международному развитию (USAID). Эта методика является первым компонентом пятилетнего соглашения о целях развития на сумму $50 млн., подписанное 28 сентября 2019 года между МНО и USAID.

Планируется, что исследования EGRA и EGMA будут проведены в 12 регионах Узбекистана на всех 7 языках обучения и английском языке.

Пилотные исследования будут проводиться в течение двух недель в 70 школах Узбекистана и охватят 1,4 тыс. второклассников и 1,4 тыс. четвероклассников.

Основной целью пилотных исследований является пилотирование инструментария для каждого языка, тестирование протокола сбора данных, также практика экспертов по оценки знаний.

Для проведения оценки были созданы группы, в которые вошли по 5 специалистов.

Планируется, что полноценные исследования в школах Узбекистана будет проведено в мае 2020 года. Исследования будут проводиться в течение 10 учебных дней в 940 школах, которые будут выбраны произвольно. Исследования охватят 11,28 тыс. второклассников и столько же четвероклассников. Оценку по EGRA и EGMA пройдут 12 учащихся из каждого класса.

Финальные результаты исследований EGRA и EGMA будут опубликованы в августе 2020 года.

Министр народного образования Республики Узбекистана Шерзод Шерматов отметил, что до сегодняшнего дня у нас не существовала объективная система оценки знаний. Сейчас Министерство народного образования Республики Узбекистана работает над внедрением проектов на базе международного опыта и исследований. Впервые мы проводим оценку знаний наших учеников на базе международных систем. Данные исследования позволят сравнить результаты Узбекистана с данными других стран и найти оптимальные пути их решения. В связи с этим, я призываю директоров и учителей обеспечить объективность оценки, так как данные помогут определить проблемные моменты в системе образования.

Посол США в Узбекистане Дэниел Розенблюм сказал, что EGRA и EGMA являются простыми, недорогими и мощными инструментами для оценки грамотности и базовых знаний счета учеников начальных классов. Я хочу подчеркнуть, что использование слова «оценка» является осознанным выбором. Это не проверка знаний отдельного ученика, умения преподавателя преподавать или директора школы управлять учебным заведением. Здесь нет проходных или неуспешных оценок. Подобно тому, как врач осматривает пациента перед назначением лечения, EGRA и EGMA оценивают навыков чтения и математики в начальной школе и результаты этих оценок будут использованы для разработки новых учебных программ, методов обучения и подходов, которые будут специально адаптированы для улучшения результатов обучения всех учеников Узбекистана.

Scroll to Top